Freeking out about fuel! Pimping the Beast!

Today I finished the last run required of me before I go into Long Run Saturday.

Tomorrow is also the 1st of August!

Tomorrow we start 31 Days strictly Paleo.

30 minutes ago, I was freeking out about what and how I am going to fuel for this run.

Last week, where I completed around 8k (not considered a ‘long run’ but in respect to my timing and pace, it kinda is, especially when you run that 8k on The Mount!) in the last 2 or so k I started to feel tired and drained.
I put half of this down to being unfit, and half of it down to not eating/drinking correctly before hand.

I know, I know, there are probably people out there saying this, that and the other about the fact I shouldn’t stress so much about it, but when you care so much about performing, it IS kind of a big deal.  I am a little bit of a perfectionist, and I want to get it right!

Anywho, googled a bit, read a bit and have come up with a bit of a plan to get things right.

Foods that have been recommended to me for pre-run include:

Low Fibre Fruits – banana, peaches, melon
Egg
Protein Powder
If you are in a pinch – Baby food, fruit kinds and animal product types.

So I will give it a jam.

I shouldn’t need any ‘during run’ fuel, and I only need water, no electrolyte bevey required.

I have roughly 9k on my agenda, but will skip running ‘Up’ the Mount this weekend.

Wish me luck for the next 31 days, sounds like there is a good group of people participating, so I am amped to ‘keep it real’ with them.

So…what are your August Plans?

Gonna try a Paleo month with me?

You should so totally try!

Running and running!

Jay 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

