Running Uphill. Pimping the Beast

This one is a little late.

Life gets in the way a lot at the moment.  It happens, and as a friend told me, “Ride the wave, you will be ok”.

I rid that damn wave, and took my frustration out on a run!

Remember that time last week when I told you about my run about going Up, Down and Around the Mount?

Well this time I ran around, up, down and around!  Adding another Kilometer to my run.

8k 28th July | On a Jam Hunt Blog

And when I say I ran “Up”, I actually ran Up a lot of it.  Whilst dying, but I shuffled my butt up quicker!

8k Charts | On a Jam Hunt Blog

Now, last time I boosted up from the base to the peak in 18 minutes, this time I did take 20, I ran in the afternoon instead of the morning, the weather was warmer and there were double the amount of people on the Mount.  It was hard to maneuver my way around.

I think once I start doing more than 12k on my long runs, I will have to change my venue, perhaps go out to TECT park if I have the time.

I was pretty chuffed with knocking out that 8k, however the first 3k felt like an uncoordinated mess!

My leg played up again!

So I ordered some 2XU compression socks to help with the circulation in my right calf – ankle – foot.  Hopefully it will help to reduce the strain on my lower leg muscles, reduce the likelihood of shinsplints and help to tidy up my form.
I am getting a bit tired of having this issue, so I am hoping it will bring me some better results.

In other news…

On the 1st of Aug, I am going full paleo for 31days.  Jessie, The Paleo Kiwi is setting himself the following objectives:

THE PALEO KIWI: 31 DAY CHALLENGE

And we all know how I love a good challenge!

This works well with the current things I have going on, but I will have to go back to my book Paleo Diet for Athletes, just to make sure I don’t bonk on a long run.  This is something I am particularly concerned about, but will be sure to do all I can to nail it!

Anywho,

Over the drama of the weekend, and into a new and fresh week.

Coming back, and hitting it hard!

Ready to up the k’s a smidge,

Becoming Beast!

See you in a bit,

Jay 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

