Dreading the REST DAY – Pimping the Beast

Last week – my first week of my training plan, went really well.  I capped it off with a treadmill (DREADMILL) run of 2k as recovery.

DREADMILL Recovery Run |On a Jam Hunt Blog

 

I am not too keen on the Treadmill, but it is the only way I can get in a run on a Sunday seeing as half the year I am a solo-parent.  I use my Mother-in-laws treadmill while I visit for dinner on Sunday’s.

I feel really confident going forward with my training plan.  My fitness after just one week is not too bad.

Also when I remember back to my training for Round the Bays Half Marathon, I thought back to the times when my faith in my plan dwindled and the great nervousness I felt about attempting my long runs.
I think again about how I felt once completing those long runs and how I managed to complete every last thing that was required of me from the training plan.
I remember about how surprised I was about the huge distance I had just covered on my Long Runs and how my faith was restored in my plan every time that Sunday run came around.

It is so important to keep that faith!

Anywho, enough about last week,

Lets hear about this week!

Monday and Friday are REST Days.  After last week, I have become very nervous about Rest days, especially where my calorie intake is concerned.
Those runs and my activeness during non-rest days seem to help keep my head in the game and my hunger at bay (except after a hard run – then I want to EAT ALL THE THINGS!)
Rest days are a bit tougher, you don’t have that extra burned Cal to consume and you have to keep to the plan by not running i.e. time on your feet engaging leg muscles that require recovery.

So I have come up with a plan, one that works out quite well where my performance is concerned.

I am dedicating my Rest days to strength – in particular Core strength and when I can, Upper Body strength.

I have a Tabata timer app on my phone which cycles 8 x 20 secs of Action with 10 secs rest in between.

Tabata Time Finish | On a Jam Hunt Blog Tabata Timer Cycles | On a Jam Hunt Blog Tabata App | On a Jam Hunt Blog

 

Today I did 4 different ab exercises (4 exercises @ 20 sec intervals x 2 – totaling 8 intervals), ones that I do at Boot Camp…

Plank

Plank

Pilates 100's

Pilates 100s

V Crunch

V Crunch

Bicycle Crunches

Bicycle Crunches

I also set my alarm at 6 times during the day – just at times when I know I will have time to drop and get down to bust these out.

Ab Alarms

 

Hopefully I will see some improvement in my Core Strength at BootCamp, which is where I will be measuring it.  I usually suck at BootCamp doing the Ab portion of exercises so if I see any improvement, I will definitely see it there!

Needless to say, I am pretty sore right now… lets hope the DOMS don’t come to haunt me!

So that is my REST day plan.  I really want to maybe take up swimming, but that will have to wait for next year (when I will have care for the children).

What do you do on your Rest Days?

Do you fret too about having to avoid your regular exercise routine?

Bring on Run Day tomorrow!

I am RUNNING!!

Jay 🙂

P.S.  I TOTALLY LOST 1.5KG LAST WEEK!!! WOOP WOOP!!!

Leave a Reply

