Was I Born to Run?

“Know why people run marathons? …  Because running is rooted in our collective imagination, and our imagination is rooted in running.  Language, art, science, space shuttles, Starry Night, intravascular surgery; they all had their roots in our ability to run.  Running was the superpower that made us human – which means its a superpower all humans Possess.”   -Louis Liebenberg

{Quote from Christopher McDougall’s Born to Run}

In the last couple of months I have pondered thoughts that border this exact idea.  Was I born to Run?

I have come across experiences – opinions, personal feelings, passing comments about running from a smyllion and one different people, For and Against the act of ‘Running’

Those that have given me the most food for thought – opinions from professionals.
All differing but all guiding me to the thought of ‘should I just give up?’

In the last year and a half I have grown to love this act of running.  It has not only grown on me, but become me.
I may not particularly be any good at it, but the way it makes me feel is truly indescribable, though I try my best to portray it.

But also in this same 1.5years I have had injury after injury and have grasped at methods, theories, others advice and experiences to get me on the right track to running ‘injury-free’.

After all this time, I still haven’t found my pain-free groove, but my heart still pines so passionately for it!

After rehabbing my injury developed from my running my first 21.1, I had asked a few different professionals what my next move to my tiring quest should be.
Each gave their professional (and perhaps not so professional) opinions and sent me on my way to further ponder what I should do with it all.
I had actually mentioned to my Chiro if I should just ‘Chuck it in’, even though I ‘love it so much’, am I ‘just ‘not cut out?’

In all this deliberation, mixed messages and efforts to find a deeper understanding, I had already on it’s way, paid and pending delivery, the book – ‘Born to run, A Hidden Tribe, Super athletes and the Greatest Race the world has never seen’  written by Christohpher McDougall.

About the Book –
Full of incredible characters, amazing athletic achievements, cutting-edge science, and, most of all, pure inspiration, Born to Run is an epic adventure that began with one simple question: Why does my foot hurt? In search of an answer, Christopher McDougall sets off to find a tribe of the world’s greatest distance runners and learn their secrets, and in the process shows us that everything we thought we knew about running is wrong.

I have literally just finished reading it for a second time and all I can say is it couldn’t have come at a better time.

I wouldn’t say it was a sign more than it was just a timely coincidence, but so many things in this book rang true of how I feel about running.
Things I had already discovered but had not taken too much notice of.

Though my own experiences are far from any adventure mapped out in this book, many things resonated in my own journey of thought and feeling whilst pounding.

I have dreams of ultra running, I live vicariously through race recaps and reports, I am almost ‘involved’ in others descriptions of what grueling hell they had just put themselves through over the last 50km plus, what their eyes have seen, what their feet have felt, how their body’s have paid.

I tell myself everyday (I actually do), that one day I am going to get to that 100!  There has to be a way around every freeking injury I have had, hundreds of people run every god damn day, why the hell am I getting it so wrong!

Is it time to take my shoes off…

…and then run!?!?!

I think so!

Minimilist? Barefoot?

I am about to embark on a new journey!

The same, but different!

Like always, I am writing all about it!

Run!

Jay 🙂

“Just move your legs.  Because if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history.  You’re denying who you are” – Prof Dennis Bramble

{Quote from Christopher McDougall’s Born to Run}

3 comments

  1. I have the book and have lent it to several people but haven’t managed to read it myself yet! It’s somewhere in customs in Perth now so maybe once I get my hands on it in a month or two. After four weeks not running, with no improvement to my injury, I am miserable, and have started to stare down into the abyss of a life without running. It doesn’t help that I met up with an old friend the other day who told me she gave up running because of the exact same injury:( Last night I started to wonder if I should try running barefoot on the beach when I get to Perth because whatever I’m doing now- with new orthotics too- is not working! So we’re somewhere around the same place right now, you and I. I can’t wait to hear how you get on and am thrilled to read about your re-enthusiasm for running. Let your new journey begin:)

    1. TOTALLY think you should give it one last go with the Barefoot/Minimalist running. Don’t give up yet!
      It is quite odd, as almost every professional I have gone to to seek out advice has told me to take up another sport. Not one except my Chiro has supported my choice to be a runner – apparently according to them, we weren’t born to run ha!
      The Podiatrist said Orthotics, The Physio said more strengthening and maybe more walking instead, One of my doctors said “hmmm too much pressure on your hips and knees”…. Apparently if you are broken, you should just pack it in lol
      I am not going to give it up, I am only just getting started, and I too, would love to hear all about how you go with the Barefoot stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

