Team David Virtual 5k

Today I ran for something outside of myself.

In my little corner of the world, I headed out with the Twinlets in tow.  For this guy…

Meet David…

At age 13 David was diagnosed “borderline schizophrenic”, at that time minors couldn’t be labeled “schizophrenic”. Once he turned 18 that diagnosis was changed to “schizophrenia”. He has carried this “label” every since. Needless to say, he turned to food for comfort. His over-indulgence led to addiction which ultimately led to obesity.
With the mind of an 8 year old child, his ability to make what one might consider “rational” decisions is quite limited. Now don’t get me wrong, he has a brilliant mind, as most people with this type of disorder. However, as a 6 year old child needs direction, so does David at the age of 33 and always will.
When David takes his medication like he is directed, unless you know his story, you would never know he had such a diagnosis. He loves to study and tell others of God’s word. He has a very creative mind and like all of us, he yearns to just be accepted.
He has spent the majority of his life with a label and because of that, at times he feels of less value than someone who may seem to “have it all together”. David loves like his Creator, unconditionally. He could actually teach the “average” person a thing or two.

 

Today David and his mum participated in a 5k event.

Weeks ago, they had made a virtual 5k event via Facebook in support of David.  I immediately jumped at it, I love virtual challenges.  Somehow they always mean more than the ones you pay money for to do for yourself.  There is more of a community feel.

Now at first, this morning, I didn’t want to get out of bed.  In all honesty it felt like Winter had come early and all I wanted to do was curl up with a roaring fire in front of the T.V. with the children.

I looked at the forecast for today and it said that it was supposed to rain later in the day.  If I didn’t get out and do it now then I would have to miss out on the run all together.  Mr Jam_hunt is still not home from work yet and so It would be too cold later to go out running with the kids.

I peeled away my Jim Jams, and suited up in some compression longs, having them on instantly made me feel better about going out into the cool world.

I rugged up the kiddies, in ugh boots and woolly hats and we were off.

It seemed the world was a different temperature outside, it was actually warmer outside than it was inside!

Crossing the road and warming up through the park, I knew I had to start my Garmin early in order to get in a full 5k on my usual route.

Off we went, down the access way through some trail and on to the Estuary Walkway.

I stopped quite a few times for snack breaks, water breaks and photo opportunities.

27.04.2013 094 27.04.2013 101 27.04.2013 093

This would be one of the very few times that I had left to run in warmer weather before Winter hit.

The kiddies loved the cows and were fighting at their stroller straps to get free and frolic in the over grown grass just across the way.

We passed quite a few runners, walkers and dog-walkers.  Other mums with strollers, Fit men and women, the causal elderly couple and (what looked like) a ten year old little girl running, donning a Weetbix Triathlon t-shirt, AWESOME!

It seemed everyone else had the same idea.

We got up the mammoth Coach Drive/Grange Road hill and proceeded along the main road toward our home.  Stopping first at the park for a bit of a run around and some slide action.

27.04.2013 103

I had to run a few hundred meters more down the road to get in the full 5k, but we got there in the end and wrapped up what was a very enjoyable run.

27.04.2013 106

Thanks David for being the reason I got out and about today!

There are always going to be excuses and reasons for why we choose not to do the right thing for our body’s and mind.  They are always going to be things that make up the parts of your Journey.

Not one soul is made up of 100% Will Power, just as quickly as it comes, it goes again.  It is only in ourselves that we find the courage to go out there and get it done again.  It always helps when you have some one to inspire you, or something to aspire to.

Life is made up of a whole bunch of small successes, as long as you are always on your way toward where you want to be, then you have not failed.

 

Next run wont come till Thursday.  Mr Jam_hunt will be home then, and I am super excited about this!

Did you go out for a Sunday morning run today?

Did something inspire you to get movin’?

As always,

Still Running,

Jay 🙂

P.S.  Go over to David’s FB page Team David, give it a ‘Like’ and comment on how Choice he is!
P.P.S. I have not been completing my 30 Day Challenges, but I have some awesome news to share anyway on the 30th of the Month.  Excitement stations!!

3 comments

  1. Good morning, great read…kia ora David, fantastic effort…keep going…the mokos look awesome…beast on…Dad xox 😀 yup and put a long Sunday stroll in down to Porirua harbour and gardens…

Leave a Reply

