My Sunday Church Service

The last time I actually went to a church service was probably in my late teens.

I am now 30!

I didn’t go to Church yesterday.

I ran long yesterday.

I would personally say it was as beneficial as any Church service.

Running long now means anything over 45 minutes.  My Half Marathon fitness is long gone, so I just do what I can manage.

An hour long was as much as I could manage.

I ran 8.2k Easy.

I have missed being able to just set out and watch the world wake up.  To be able to just head out the door and run half your town before breakfast.  To watch the sun peek out from hills and splay its awesomeness over land and water.
To breathe in air so fresh and cool.  To take which ever path you feel like.  To run the roads as if all pathways were merged into one and road rules do not apply.  To look up and see friendly faces raise a hand for a ‘you and I are so damn awesome’ wave/hi-5.

To be out in the world and not give a care to what you are wearing, where you have to be today, have I paid that bill on time?, the pile of washing that has been stacked ever so carefully as to not topple over, do I have enough gas in the car to get me from A to B?, how am I ever going to finish that assignment on time?, the Awkward dinner you have to attend with the boss and his wife, the never ending ‘to-do’ list!

The run can take you as far as you like both with thought and distance.  This hour that you spend, is entirely up to you.  However fast or steady, whether you sprint or wog.  No matter what you have weighing on your shoulders, this run right now is so far away from any of that that it feels like the only kind of freedom that is readily attainable at any given time.  The thing is you just have to find the time, or make the time.

I was so lucky to have woken up early enough (Daylight Savings End = extra hour) to be able to cruise through the streets and arrive at my Nirvana.

Memorial Park 06.04.2014

 

What ever happened before this run didn’t matter.  What ever happens after this run will not matter.  This blissful hour is exactly that, no need to over think it!

All this, plus my perfect Sunday Morning Easy Running Long Playlist makes for the best Sunday Morning ‘Un-Lie in’.

As for my 30 Day Challenge…

Today is the 7th day, and I am feeling it in full effect.  My legs are stronger, but gosh am I fatigued.  I have had to shorten my sets and break the reps up over the course of my day.  Running, The Shred and 30 Day Challenges require a bit of a balancing act to not cause injury.

This week – does not hold much in the way of distance, I’ll be flying solo with the twinlets again for a bit but that is ok, I am sure they are looking forward to some faster paced walk/runs in the stroller.

Still no events on the horizon until the second half of the year, super looking forward to those!

How did you spend your Sunday morning?

Any long runs/bikes/swims for you?

Did you take part in an “Un-Lie in” with me?

See you in a bit,

Jay 🙂

 

 

2 comments

  1. Good morning Jam, we were lucky that we had a visit from a church group…then a awesome long walk(off day training day) around Titahi Bay…while we trek around this lovely bay, we both looked West to our Aussie whanau wishing them a great start to their day…rest day Sunday, beast on tomorrow…Dad xxx

Leave a Reply

