It was the worst run ever…

…but I loved every single second of it!

Its been over two weeks since I have been able to go for a decent run.  While it wasn’t quite decent, it was a run and it was awesome.

Awesome, but UGLY!

It has been over a month since my Half marathon and I have not maintained my mileage.  I have been nursing injury and battling with ways to fit in some fitness.

It is crushing how quickly your fitness goes.

I started out my run yesterday fluid and light.  It came like second nature, like I had picked up where I left off.

Except I hadn’t!

800 metres into the run and I was feeling sore in my chest, drained in my body, saliva welling in my mouth!

 

I was losing.

It wasn’t like I had set out fast, I knew I always made that rookie move so I made sure not to this time.

Didn’t help 😦

I walked it out a little, crossed the road, found a connecting street and moved off the main road so that I could spit away from the public eye.

Scratch that…I actually felt like I wanted to throw up!

Walked it out a little more and decided to give it another jam.

I ran another k or so and then had to walk again.

All in all, I Wogged a total of 3.6k.  It was an ugly 3.6k, but it was a wonderful 3.6k.

Why was it wonderful?

My entire adult life I have suffered from varying degree’s of depression and anxiety issues.  In recent times I have maintained some kind of level headed’ness.
When I first started to run, a mere year and a half ago, I found something that naturally lessened my stress and anxiety levels.  I developed a freedom about it, like as if I had finally hitched a ride after a million miles of walking.
Problems seemed to be nothing in comparison, anxiety almost became non-existant, I had meditation in my long run, being forced to be alone with my thoughts/with myself.

Well, 2 weeks of no physical activity certainly ran havoc with my emotions.  I felt like I was a mood swinging pregnant woman ready to blow at any minute!


There was anxiety because I had lost my long distance fitness, there was stress because I couldn’t even manage a short walk, there was frustration because the only way to lessen my weight was to limit calorie intake – and I LOVE FOOD!

So this shitty, uncoordinated, crappy run with all its hideous form and heaving saliva spitting turned out to be exactly what I needed.

I had caught my ride and I was back on my way.

If you are friends with me on MFP, you would know daily how I felt about not being able to run.  I think I moaned about it nearly every day! ha!  Poor people!  You guys and gals are awesome, thanks for your support!

So what now?

No plans for events in the near future, I hate the disappointment of not being able to keep to the training plan that it requires.  There is just no affordable, feasible way I can commit to a long distance event.

Instead, a change of focus!

A 30 Day Challenge with my MFP Buddies!

It is the first day of the Month, the first day of the Quarter, what better time to start!

30-day-push-up-challenge-chart 30-day-squat-challenge-chart 30-day-plank-challenge-chart

Anyway, feel free to Jam along, we are punching this 30 in the face, you should come get a’ punchin’ with us!

I have just busted out Day one, and also Day one with Jillian, She always kicks my butt with her Shred!

As for the running…

Short Runs for as long as I can manage while the hubby is home for the next week, then back to wog’s with the kids being careful to not over do it.  Not what I had planned, but we do what we can!

So let’s get to it!

Still Running,

and getting a little buff too,

Jay 🙂

P.S.  Have taken some Before’s and After’s – Pics and Measurements for show and tell once done 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

