On a scale of 0-10,

My post-Dry Needling pain two sleeps later is at a rough 2, I would say 1, but I still have an inflamed popliteal cyst that needs more work!

Today was run day.

Again I stroller ran.

Hubby is out of the Country for another couply weeks, so I must push the wee wrigglebutts along with me.

The run was great, shaved a whole 2 minutes off of my time from Tuesdays run.  I got this Stroller Running thing in the bag I tell ya!

For the first time since having this injury, I can actually feel the cyst inside my leg.

I came about it while foam rolling after my run, I was moving up from my calves to do the Hammy’s when I felt a huge lump behind my knee and an achey pain when massaging over it.
I hadn’t rolled my legs out for a long time, so I had no idea what the cyst actually felt like.
Even when Lucy (My physio) worked it, it never did feel quite so hard and bulbous as it does today.

It isn’t causing me any pain whilst running, and I barely notice it during the day, it is just when I touch it or lie with legs out that I feel the ache.

I see Lucy again tomorrow, so we will see what other options there are to get it back to 100%.

Now that I know exactly what is going on with my injury and put a name to the actual issue, I thought I might google it to find out more.

Here are some things I found out about it…

(From medicinenet.com)

  • A Baker cyst is swelling caused by fluid from the knee joint protruding to the back of the knee.
  • Baker cysts are common and can be caused by virtually any cause of joint swelling (arthritis).
  • A Baker cyst may not cause symptoms or be associated with knee pain and/or tightness behind the knee, especially when the knee is extended or fully flexed.
  • Baker cysts can rupture and become complicated by spread of fluid down the leg between the muscles of the calf (dissection).
  • Baker cysts can be treated with medications, joint aspiration and cortisone injection, and surgical operation, usually arthroscopic surgery.

Sorry what?  Cortisone injection, and surgical operation?!?!?!

Yeah not that keen!

Lets hope that the aspiration helps it before needing anything more serious.  I am not scared of needles, scalpels or any of that kind of thing, those things have all become pretty familiar since having a DVT years ago.  I just want it dealt with in a less invasive way if I can help it.

Plans for the weekend…

If the supposed storm lets up early (which by the looks of the forecast isn’t likely), I may get one more run in either Saturday or Sunday.  I am flirting with the idea of running long with the children if weather permits.

I also want to wish all my NZ buddies running in this years Tarawera Ultra (TUM) many fun filled, energetic, pain-free, beautiful scenic Miles on Saturday, and a wee special mention to SuperGenericGirl who’s blog I also follow – hope that injury holds up 🙂

I am so totally FOMO’ing about the TUM right now, totally wish I was there, even just to volunteer.  Would love to catch a glimpse of some of the greats that I have been following and some of the crazy local (NZ) characters I have already met in the flesh.  It is my dream to get amongst the action.
I will up in there hopefully next year in a team of four for relay.  GAH I WISH I WAS THERE THIS YEAR!

Anywho,

What are your plans this weekend?

Running long at all?

If you are, make sure to run a little extra for me 🙂 missing my long distances!

As always,

Be Beast,

and go Punch this weekend in the Face!

Jay 🙂

 GOD I WANT TO BE THERE!!!!

)

Leave a Reply

