Nabeyaki Udon

I have been meaning to post this recipe for a really long time now.

Got my A into G and found the pic’s that I took to make this post.

I am not sure how you make the real thing, there are still ingredients that are missing I am sure. ย I have tried making it a ton of times, this is the one that has come the closest to the real thing…

Nabeyaki Udon

So you are not limited to what I have put in this list of ingredients, it is pretty much to personal taste.

Makes 2 large servings

3 Cloves Garlic sliced or crushed
1 tsp Crushed ginger
1/4c Spring Onion
1/2 White onion Sliced
1/4 – 1/2 tsp ground Chili Powder or dried Chili flakes (depending on how hot you like your soup)
Bok Choy – or whatever Asian Greens you prefer. I used a 2 whole bunches for 2 people, it shrinks down heaps
300g Skinless Boneless Chicken Thigh – you can use breast but it isn’t as flavourful
1 Litre Chicken Stock (if usuing bought, don’t bother with reduced salt, you will have to season anyway)
2 whole eggs (1 per person)
200g Udon Noodles
Smidge of oil
Salt to taste

06.12.2013 109 06.12.2013 11106.12.2013 116

Saute Chicken and onion in oil, in a medium sized saucepan (big enough for 1ltr of stock plus veg), Chicken doesn’t have to be brown, just no longer pink on outside. ย It will spend another 20 or so minutes cooking in the pan so you want it still slightly raw in the middle at this stage.

Add Garlic, Ginger and spring onion.
06.12.2013 113
Once onion is almost translucent add chicken stock and bring to boil.

06.12.2013 115
Reduce to simmer and add Chili and salt to taste
Add Bok Choy and Noodles

06.12.2013 120

Once Bok Choy has softened crack egg into simmering soup and cook till poached – however you like your poached eggs.

06.12.2013 118

When serving up, spoon out eggs first with slotted spoon to make sure you don’t break yolks.

06.12.2013 122

You can also add extra Chili at this point, if you like it hotter.

06.12.2013 123

Nailed the Poached egg! YEOW!

When I order this from the Japanese restaurant it usually comes with a tempura Prawn, I spose you could add tempura anything to this.

I am not much of a recipe writer so will leave it at that ๐Ÿ™‚

Any suggestions to make it more choice?

Comment me.

Jay ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

  1. No, that noodle looks more than enough choice. I commend you for getting your A into G in making this. I never get my A into G to cook anything unless my wife puts her F up my A! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

