Long Run Recovery

Today I am feeling really close to being TIP TOP!

My legs feel slightly achey, but I am not in any great pain.  WIN!

I believe it is because I have followed the rules this time.

Up until the past week I have been a bit slack when it comes to helping my body to achieve the best recovery.  I have not consistently used a stretching routine, I have not paid too much attention to consuming the best recovery foods and I have not done any massage or icing.  It is safe to say that I have got by this far without doing much of anything but the running part.

Until yesterday.

Yesterday was the longest non-stop run that I have ever done, ever ever!  I ran 12km in 1 hour and 30 minutes over an extensively hilly area.  Boy did my legs get put through their paces!

I have come away from this run fairly unscathed and I think this is how…

My Long Run Recovery routine

During the Run

Hydrate small amounts often during your long run – I also need to add in an Electrolyte beverage

Warm up and Warm down – up until yesterday I had been running right up to my doorstep, I am now adding to my route some distance for a cool down walk.

After the Run

CHUG!  Dehydration is the worst for recovering bodies.  Drink more than you think you might need, and drink often through out the remainder of your day.

Ice those legs!  Immediately after my run I sat in a cold bath for the first time in my running career.  I sat there with Gel packs on my knees.  It was uncomfortable at first, but then by the end of it I didn’t want to get out.

“Cold water constricts blood vessels and muscle tissue and prevents blood from pooling in your legs.” – Active.com

Stretch.  I am not sure if I should have stretched before or after Cooling (Probably better to do after while your muscles are still warm).  Loosen you muscles and help rid them of lactic acid which usually builds up during strenuous exercise.

Eat – I had Coconut Pancakes with Banana and Creme Fraiche, probably not the best meal to have calorie-wise, but it has Carb and Protein – that’s how I decided to justify it haha!
Anyway, here are a few links to help you out with this one – 10 Essential Foods for RunnersWhat foods help speed up Recovery.

Walk some more – keep your body fluid, you may think/may want to stay sedentary, but you will only stiffen up those muscles causing you more pain.  I walked small amounts through out my day and went for short walks the next day (today).

Elevation – Not much to say about this one, I just lay with my legs against the back of the couch watching t.v. when I had the chance.

Massage – I did a wee bit of self-massage of my calves and Hammy’s, and a bit of Foam Rolling for my ITB, Glutes, Anterior and Posterior.

The only thing I could think of to add to this would be some compression, I have some compression calf sleeves but forgot all about them.

I think the Recovery phase takes a lot of focus to ensure you don’t shrug it off.  It might seem to be a wee bit ‘overboard’ having such a long and drawn out process, but it is most likely going to save you from some serious DOMS, or even worse case scenario – unnecessary injury later down the track.

40 mins of Speed work tomorrow brings me into Week 9, which means that there is only 5 weeks to go!!

Starting to have a few doubts again, but as they say – Trust the training.  Looking forward to what this weekend’s long run will bring.

Well,

Back to elevating those legs – kids are asleep, I have got some T.V. watching to do!

‘RICE’ up,

Jay 🙂

4 comments

  1. Wow an ice bath! I’ve never been brave enough. Yesterday I found some really nice chocolate soya milk here in Thailand and it worked well as a run recovery drink. I don’t drink cow’s milk but I have heard that many runners use chocolate cow’s milk after tough runs. Mind you, the pancakes sound even better but a bit more work:) Sounds like you’re being very conscientious with your race training. I know it will pay off!

    1. You will be surprised at how good an icebath actually feels after a hard run, I didn’t want to get out!
      I have found that after my runs I just don’t bounce back the same. Undergoing this routine seemed to help more than I thought it would.
      Like I said almost Tip Top, which was great after those scary hills lol

  2. Good evening Jam…great effort for k’s, awesome effort with your program…all things will come together very nicely…keep it up…Dad

Leave a Reply

