I Just want to Run – Week 8 Day 3 – Graduation 5k!

Written in retrospect: 29.11.2013

11 weeks ago I started a running group.

I started it with quite selfish intentions – to be able to get out and run without my children.

Today the group and I ran a full 5k as graduation of an 8 week c25k programme.

My views on the experience have changed entirely!

My original thoughts were this:
“My plan is to invite anyone and everyone to come along, but especially mums who are in a similar position as I am – no childcare to be able to work out, because there shouldn’t be reasons for why we can’t workout!
The mums would take turns minding each others children, and everyone would get a chance to go out.  In a round-about way I am using these people lol  but they are using me in the exact same way ha!”

My thoughts now are very different!

I am inspired even though I have been the inspiration!  I am motivated even though I have done the motivating.

I think back to words I said back in this post – A Secret behind my madness.

“…I know it all comes down to giving it a go and holding on till it feels right.  Even when you feel like chucking it in, your body aching with muscle pain and your chest burning beyond your comfort threshold.

Just wait and see, be patient, do the work.

You will soon find limits you thought you never had, I promise you!”

This has come to pass.   Each of the ‘Runners’ have seen what they are capable of.  Each have experienced what it means to Be’ a runner, to live the ‘runners high’ to cross that mental ‘finish line’, to do what it takes, find the limits and surpass them!

This has been my takeaway.  Something I have been grateful to give and the intrinsic reward I receive.

Our 2 running groups achieved great results.  33 minutes and 35 minutes.  For first time 5k runs, this blows me away!  Impressive results for beginner runners!

1470168_10152049681570469_1057635391_n

This goes to show that the c25k programmes are effective.  Although it did take us a few more weeks to get there, once we did get there, we got there entirely and confidently! A full non-stop 5k distance, Done and Dusted!

Shell Drinnan, Aimee Nicholas and Melissa Boyd.  I thank you all for the success of the group, your amazing efforts given and the wonderful attitudes and spirits of believing in yourselves enough to do what the majority of people will never try!  You rock my world!

I Just Want to Run Group Graduation | On a Jam Hunt Blog

 

Run on with your bad selves!

Jay 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

