Damn Arch’s! On Pimping the Beast!

So two days post 14k and my Arch’s are a bit niggly!

DUMB!

I am Rolling!  Rolling my Arch’s.  I have also spent a good amount of time with my legs in the air! lol

Every chance I get I am on my back elevating my feet.

Tomorrow I am going to run.

I follow the Expat Runner Blog written by the Irish Nomad.  She also suffers from Posterior Tibial Tendonitis.

On the advice from her Physio, she was ordered to run 15k!  So after some deep massage and ankle stretches off she went.

Tomorrow I will be following that same advice. Except not the “15k” bit ha!  Just an easy 5k for me, with or without the children.

Actually now that I think about it, last time that my arch pain flared up, I ran on it days later and it seemed to actually help it.  This Akmal (Expat Runners Physio) must be on to something!

Today consisted of some casual walks with the children, some baking, some gardening and cleaning the interior and exterior of the car.  Of course I am not just going to do nothing with my day, even though my feet are achey.

But I am wondering whether I will eventually need to seek some professional advice about my Arch’s.  They are starting to annoy me!  I may have to deal with an orthotic!

Unfortunately this will be my last ‘Pimping the Beast’ post.  I am still going to concentrate on losing that last 1.9kg, and keeping within my daily calories.  I will still be continuing to do a Leg day every week, and also my dates with Jillian for Ab’s.

I am just running out of time to do everything that needs to be done leading up to Christmas.  My children turn 2 in just 4 weeks – this requires an elaborate party! (We are not having any more children, so these birthday parties need to count! ha!), then we go away camping for a week and a half (yes, with 2 year old toddlers!), Back for Christmas, Then travelling for 3-4 hours for a 40th, then New years… all while training for a Half Marathon.

I am looking forward to every single mad moment of it!

So…

What do you have planned for the rest of the year?  Any loose ends that need tidying up?  Any Mileage goals to meet before the New Year?  How about starting some training to come run the Wellington Round the Bays with me?

I’ll still be around, blogging my awesomeness, and not so awesomeness!

Still bringing the Beast,

Jay 🙂

P.S. 10 DAYS TILL RACE DAY!

6 comments

  1. Small world, I have this same condition and maybe not so bad at the moment as I am not running so much yet. My runners were bought after getting that foot test at Shoe clinic and my right foot needs more support to prevent this rolling. Now I am wondering if my left one is also like this and noticed sometimes a real tightening and i end up almost lifting it towards the end of some walks, where i really push it or long walks 7k ones. Have bookmarked that link above and will take a look and see if it provides more light on the issue.
    Your pimping the Beast will be missed, but there are only so many hours in the day, and hope it wont be a long term absence. Your blog has given me alot of useful info and inspiration. Looking forward to you smashing the upcoming race day!

    1. Don’t you worry your little head, I will still be around regularly, I just can’t afford to do it everyday.
      I think Orthotics for me are the way to go, it is just an added expense though especially considering I have just bought new shoes, and my last pair are barely 6 months old – both are support shoes for Over pronation, so I think I need that extra support.
      It is just an extra expense, I know it is worth it in the long run, but ti is the wrong time of the year lol
      I will have to home-treat for as long as possible, I don’t want it to affect my Half Marathon training!
      Thanks for read as always 🙂

  2. Last night I did something silly. Stood on the edge of phonebook that was on the floor where it shouldn’t be and bent my big toe back under as I slid off the edge of it. Damn well hurts and I have a little event on Sunday. Wogging it in the morning and will see how I go, should be okay but I know I have hurt it so will have to find some HTFU pills raaaaahhhhhh!!!

    1. OH MY LORD LADY!
      Ice up, Rest that foot, cant be taking time off during your event! You Got Beasts to Pimp!
      Anti-inflam? Foot in the air…I wont laugh at you, coz I will have my feet up there too lol
      Luck for the toe 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear that your arch trouble continues:( Perhaps we need to start an Arch Enemy support group 😉 After 8×500 acceleration reps last night and 5km fast this morning, my foot feels fine so I think Akmal may be right about the long runs, and repetitive pounding, being the irritant. I’ll find out tomorrow I guess. I’ve changed to Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 shoes which have great arch support. No orthotics so far. It sounds like you’re a lot more organised than I for Christmas. I always try and ignore it until the last minute panic. This year will be no different at this rate!
    P.s. Thanks for the special mention-blush!

Leave a Reply

