PTB 28.10.2013 – Snack time

In my pantry there are no ready to eat snacks 😦

I have to make/bake/create them.  There is a lot of prep behind my fast food!

Especially where my children are concerned, there is much need for small snacks to make up Morning and Afternoon tea’s.

I have dedicated Mondays to Food Prep.

Unfortunately for me my supermarket shopping isn’t due to arrive till tomorrow afternoon due to the Long Weekend, so I had to get creative… or hit up Pinterest.

On my Pinterest, I have many a recipe I have not yet tried.  I sifted through some snack/healthy eating recipes and came up with a couple that I could whip up using things I already have in my pantry.

No Bake Energy Bites and Banana Bread (I made this recipe into semi-mini muffins, and made some substitutions).

No Bake Energy Bites

Ingredients

For this recipe I subbed the Toasted coconut for plain shredded coconut.
I used Craft Crunchy Peanut Butter.
I subbed the flaxseed/wheatgerm for Organic Quinoa Cereal (I tried this cereal as a cereal, I hated it! lol it is not for everyone!)
28.10.2013 030
In hind site I should have put less chocolate chips than suggested – perhaps a 1/3cup rather than half a cup.  I found it too hard to make up the balls with so many chocolate chips (probably the only time you will ever hear me say that!).

Makes 20 1 Inch balls – roughly 70-80 cals per ball.
These are a good replacement for store bought muesli bars and taste very similar to one of my favourites.  Even though they are only an inch in diameter they pack enough sweetness and a slightly savoury note to take that edge off till the next meal time.

BANANA BREAD

75g/1⁄3 a cup of soft butter, plus extra for greasing and serving
4 ripe bananas, mashed up
200g/1 cup of soft brown sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda/baking soda
1 pinch of salt 170g/11⁄2 cups of flour (spelt or whatever)

Instead of Butter I used Cereal and fruit oil… a new product at my supermarket – they sent a free sample with my groceries a few weeks ago so I decided to try it out in my baking. I used 2/3cup of the oil.
28.10.2013 034
I only used half the amount of Brown sugar.
I used 1 cup of regular flour and half a cup of Wholemeal flour

Makes 12 – I didn’t work out the cal content of these ones, I wont be eating them.  Just made them for the kiddies.
I am working on a lower cal version of this recipe.  I will be sure to post!  All Packed up and ready to freeze – Freezes Well 🙂

28.10.2013 039

So Mondays will now be my ‘New Recipe day’ for Pimping the Beats, as well as my Food Prep day.
I hope to get as ‘Clean’ as I can with these recipes.

I am really feeling good about ‘Cleaning’ up my act!

Have you tried a new Recipe lately?

How did you Pimp the Beast today?

Jay 🙂

2 comments

    1. I found the No Bake Balls a tad sweet, and would benefit from less chocolate and maybe add a nut in there – cashew or maybe more peanuts or even some sesame seed.
      They were still yummy tho if following the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

