PTB 27.10.2013 – Adding a 4th Run day

Today I made sure that I got back on track.  I woke at about 6.30 am and couldn’t get back to sleep so I laced up and went for a run.

I don’t usually run in the weekends, but the Hubby was home so I decided to add a 4th Run day to my weekly regime.  This 4th Run day will only occur when he is home, unless I find childcare arrangements for Saturdays to be able to get an hour or so in.

It was colder this morning than it had been other mornings, so it took me a while to get loose and find my stride.  I am still breaking in the new kicks so I took it easy.
By about the 3rd km I felt good enough to keep it non-stop which I did all the way home.  I made sure only to do a 5k as Hubby needed time to pack (while children weren’t bugging him) before heading off again for another 3 1/2 weeks.
It has been a bit rough only having him home for a week, but I can’t complain as he doesn’t have to work while he is home and also the next time he is off he will be spending 9 weeks with us, hence my decision to train for Half Mara.

My run was slow this morning.  I am definitely starting to notice some weakness in my core, I haven’t done any core work for a really long time.  I was finding it hard to keep good form as my lower back wasn’t cooperating which in turn was putting pressure on my hips, which then put pressure on my knees.  It is safe to say that I need to sort my strength quick smart!

I think I have rectified my mess from yesterday.  I know we all have bad days so I thought it was necessary not to go digging for something to write about, rather I should tell you all I didn’t complete the challenge for yesterday.  I am ok with that, as long as I don’t lose focus on the bigger picture and have it all just stop!

Tomorrow I have some plans to do it all over again, We need to get serious about Pimping the Beast, December is not too far away, and I have a body to prepare!

How was your weekend as a whole?  and How have you Pimped the Beast today?

Not sure what I am talking about?  Read my Initial blog post on it here. Small changes everyday to make the most of 2013, and hit 2014 strong!

Oh and an update on the Run group later tonight,

See you then,

Jay 🙂

P.S. Listened to an interesting Podcast by Steve Runner along my run – Phedippidations Podcast 309 The Paradox of Pronation.  It was particularly interesting to me seeing as I have been surrounded by a lot of Pronation talk lately.  I also struggle to get a grip on the ‘right fit’ of shoe and how the support of a shoe must be correct for how you run…  my mind boggles with all the contradicting information available online these days, so it was interesting to hear about a few of the studies in the podcast.  You should check it out!

Leave a comment