Arch Enemy!

I got to stand by and watch my running group go off without me today…

I have Arch Pain!

04.10.2013 073

Now although I should have the biggest saddy face right now, I don’t.  I know in order for me to be in good condition to run again I need to rest my foot.

The last 2 weeks I have pushed through an inkling of pain in my left foot arch.  It is not a fully fledged ‘can’t walk on it’ type of pain, it is just a slight niggle that is enough to create discomfort which I can feel up the inside of my ankle and up through the inside of my leg.  It is not severe and it is not quite an injury.  It is just there annoying me!

I would’ve continued to run through it seeing as to me it is only a niggle, but after listening to a podcast from Run Run Live – Episode 3-270 Chris Cooper & My Best Race, Chris talks a wee bit about Plantar Fasciitis and how rest is ultimately inevitable if you don’t want to go down the ‘irreparable’ line.  He talks about being proactive with strengthening your foot muscles to avoid having issues like Plantar Fasciitis that could potentially play havoc with your running career.  2 weeks of down time, may in fact save you 2 years of down time.

Now I am pretty certain that I do not have Plantar Fasciitis (yet), but Arch pain should be taken seriously.
My first encounter with Arch pain was a week prior to my first ever event – Run for your Freakn Life.  I even wrote about it in a post – I have a broken heart, a broken heart from a broken foot!  It is the exact same foot that I had issues with, so at this point it does become a concern.

I have done a bit of digging around, unfortunately the game of Running isn’t always as straight forward as putting one foot in front of the other.  It takes a bit of research, a bit of ground work and a whole lot of continued realisation of your body’s feedback.  It is super important to take the feedback seriously!

Arch pain can occur as a result of a few things, where I am concerned I think that my issue/s are 1.  I am overweight – I am not hugely overweight, but the amount of force on my legs and feet is amplified during running. and 2.  I am an overpronater – My foot rolls inwards on landing, you can read more about what it is here over at RunnersWorld.com (My running bible!)

If I think back to when I first experienced the Arch pain, it was when I had transitioned from a Neutral running shoe to a Overpronating running shoe.  Before the new shoe I had never had Arch Pain before.  After purchasing a shoe based on my overpronation, you would expect that I would not encounter such a pain… hmmm…

My next thought then would be that it is just because my legs and feet are not strong enough to function correctly without causing inflammation, so more research had to be done.
I came across this article with Five simple stretches and exercises that can cure & prevent plantar fasciitis.  Which I plan to do regularly.  I have a busy summer coming up with my running, so it is important to me to set a solid foundation.  Because I had never really run before this time last year and because I am getting older, I find it is more important to get this foundation down so I can be proud of achieving some good results later.

And while my foot is on hiatus, a quick strap up for support with KT Tape

In other news, the running group had a great run this morning, I got to play babysitter, which I don’t mind.  I am just fortunate enough to have plenty of ladies in the group to make sure no one has to miss out on a run.  More about Week 2 Take 2 in my next post.

Spring is definitely here and the sun has come out to play, it is the perfect time for you all to get out and start some running action!

Better living beasts!

Jay 🙂

7 comments

  1. It’s interesting that your arch pain developed after you changed to a shoe for over-pronators. I developed arch pain – Posterior tibias tendonitis in my case – while running in a neutral shoe and have been advised by my physio to change to a stability shoe for over-pronators. The internet is awash with conflicting advice! I’m going to try my local ASICS and New Balance stores next week. Hope your foot feels better soon.

    1. I know right!
      My thinking is that it may have started during the use of the Neutral shoe, as beginner back then I may not have noticed it in among the calf strain and shin splints. I also developed a slight case of Posterior tibias tendonitis, and maybe the two are linked, or in fact are the exact same thing! I am very amateur at best when it comes to running, and you are right there is a lot of conflicting advice. But whatever it is I do believe I require a lot of strengthening, so I will get on to the 5 exercises that I have provided link for.
      Thanks for reading and thanks for your comment 🙂

      1. Sounds like we’re in similar situations. I’m really trying to work on strengthening my ankles and hips now while I’m not allowed to run. It makes sense once you’re injured but really I don’t know why it wasn’t obvious to me before that I needed to keep my muscles strong to prevent injury! I see this as a big wake up call to pay more attention. I don’t want to miss out on weeks of running ever again! ( I only started at 40 so lots of years to make up for;))

      2. Well you have time to catch up 🙂 Besides I have read it in numerous places that lots of runners peak in their 50’s 🙂 Maybe that will be you and I 🙂
        And don’t get me started on the hips haha After carrying a twin pregnancy almost to term they have gone to buggery! It is just a harder road when you start further out in life…
        Still a road worth taking tho! 😉

Leave a Reply

