Friday Night Takeaways

No, I am not having takeaways for dinner.  Even though the end of Dry July has come and gone, I am still maintaining my no takeaways streak.

The ‘Friday Night Takeaways’ is just me wrapping up in a nice wee WordPress bundle a meaningful piece of information/encounter/experience that I have come across during my week of running.  I thought I would share with you, my followers, my ‘ah ha’ moments and anything else I really had a meaningful takeaway from that may help me enhance or improve my running and on some occasions my personal life.

My first Friday Night Takeaway comes from a couple of podcast stations that I am subscribed too, both of which had some striking meaning for me, and I know would have the same for you if you went on over and took a look/listen.

My Friday run lasted a little over an hour, and in that time I listened to these two podcast’s:

AnotherMotherRunner Podcast Episode – Recommended Reading: Sporty Books for Summer

Mentioned in this podcast is certainly a few books that I have added to my Pinterest “Must Read” board.
One in particular the book ‘Devoted’ – The story about Team Hoyt, a Father-son duo that live by the Mission Statement “yes you can”.

Devoted – Dick Hoyt and Don Yaeger

A piece from the Team Hoyt Website –

“In the spring of 1977, Rick told his father that he wanted to participate in a 5-mile benefit run for a Lacrosse player who had been paralyzed in an accident. Far from being a long-distance runner, Dick agreed to push Rick in his wheelchair and they finished all 5 miles, coming in next to last. That night, Rick told his father, “Dad, when I’m running, it feels like I’m not handicapped.”

The book goes on to tell the story of their father-son relationship and their journey through events (of which they have together completed over 1000 of them) that would forge and create an unbreakable bond between them.

This inspirational story that has long now been well publicised over the television and the web’osphere left a sore spot in my heart which I know would do for you too, simply because the strength of a man, and more over, the strength of his heart.  Makes me think that while I am complaining over here about having to push a 20kg+ load of children on a 5k run in my late 20’s, Dick is over there in his now 70’s pushing Rick his 50yr old son in marathons, triathlons ect.  I really have nothing to complain about!

My takeaway from their story being that your body and mind are capable of great things and that there are really not too many excuses (if any) as to why each ordinary individual cannot achieve incredibly great things.  When times are tough and you start thinking those negative thoughts as to why you think you can’t get to where you are going, remind yourself that with enough work and tactful effort, dreams don’t have to stay dreams and in fact can become your reality!

RunRunLive Podcast Episode 3-266 Iram Leon lives life

In this RunRunLive Podcast Chris talks about “We are all gonna die, but that doesn’t mean we can’t live”

Get more fulfillment out of things you are already doing and do more fulfilling things.  Live as if you don’t have much time left!

In this episode we meet Iram Leon author of the blog Picking up a Hitchhiker, who was diagnosed with Brain Cancer in November 2010.  He talks about finding normality in Running, some of his achievements and running with his daughter.  Iram’s condition means that he wont survive the cancer, but this hasn’t stopped him running.

-“You keep going until you can’t”.

Read more about Iram’s story over at his blog of which he describes as “An Incredibly Raw and Uncensored Blog of how a Guy copes and hopes with brain cancer and life changes”

This section of the podcast really hit a nerve with me.  My takeaway from this story is to do what you can in the time that you have.  No matter how long that may be.

Since becoming a stay at home mum last October, I have had plenty of time to reflect on what it is that makes me happy, and what I can do with my life to add to my happiness.
Being in the fortunate position of having the ability to choose what I do with the rest of my life, without the pressure of doing a job for the sake of a much needed paycheck to pay the bills, I have time to actually choose something that will be good for my soul and not just my bank account.
Doing more of the things that matter and are more fulfilling and less of the things that add little/no value to my life.

For a while now I have realised that running adds value to my life, and while it is not something I could do for a living, it is definitely something I do for living.

Living with an accurate defined sense of mortality, understanding how real and truthful life is and somehow on top of impending difficulty, managing to find it in themselves to do what they love anyway.  Without excuse, because they can!

… These are the Friday Night takeaways I am talking about!

Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

