Those dreaded words…

“You might want to take a break from the running until Friday’ish”

Kill me now!!!

So you remember when I fell over last Tuesday…?
Yeah, well I think I did something to my lower back/hip.  Its not a nagging pain and doesn’t bother me unless I am running probably more than 5 km, or doing sit up’s.  The pain feels similar to that of when I was carrying the twins and had a twist in my lower back, so I am assuming I still have some muscle memory from that and things just kind of slid back into that twisty spot…if any of that makes any sense to you.
Anywho, what this means is that I had a visit to the Chiro yesterday after the very poor run on the Sunday just been.  The run felt super awkward and after around the 6th Kilometer I did more walking than running, meaning I only achieved 7.4km in the hour that I had allowed for the run.  Boo!!!
So off I went dragging my hopeful butt to see my Chiro to help me set myself straight.
After some clicking and some twisting there was the question from Matt…
“So what are your plans for this week?”
My reply – “I am guessing no running for a wee bit?”
Matt – “You might want to take a break from the running until Friday’ish, maybe if you feel up to it a casual flat run/walk on Wednesday, and then back to normal Friday”

My heart sank… and sank, and sank… visualizing in my head that stupid rock that I failed to run over top of and instead began an unsightly descent, knees meeting the ground.  Just the other day Jared and I had a conversation about if there ever came a day when I could no longer run…  he used the naughty B word to describe how my resulting mood would be.  He is right, and I would feel sorry for anyone who would have to suffer my wrath while I got over myself and learned to maybe swim instead.

But this short wee set back will not stop me, I will be back up and running in no time at all (well it will be no time at all for you – more like an eternity for me).  Then plans to carry on with my 10k progress will be back into full swing.  I am super excited about going for a Mount run this weekend too.  Even if it is in the rain, like my Sunday run was…

View out my bedroom window daunting but totally do-able
View outside | On a Jam Hunt

Drying Shoes | On a Jam HuntPost-Run = Drying Shoes

Drying Janine | On a Jam Hunt
Thank god or that roaring fire!

Today consisted on a small walk about 2.5km’s, I kept kidding with Jared trying to find reasons for me to kick up into a run… he wasn’t having it.  “What if you end up hurting yourself more and are off running for more than a week?!?!”
*Hanging my head* my response – “okay okay”

So the adjustments to my week mean an easy run tomorrow, a longer run Friday and a Mount Run Saturday/Sunday.

I hate taking breaks!  I hate breaking!!

Well I hope you all are having a Beast of a week, get active for me a little huh,

Jay 🙂

2 comments

  1. Sorry to hear, injuries suck! At least it sounds like it should only be a short break. I have something going on with my left pec too that’s forcing me to take time off from lifting. Yeah, I know right where you are at, people may not want to be around me for a while! haha

    1. Yup, “taking a break” is really dumb! Especially frustrating when there are plans that need to be re-shuffled! Super Boo!
      But those pavements will still be there waiting for me, and those weights will still be waiting for you, Hope you don’t have to take too much time off your game 🙂

Leave a Reply

