Achieving the sub 1hour

My Butt hurts!  And this is why…

My next event is not for another 12 and a half weeks.  Another 10km run, and because I have a lengthy amount of time before I smash it, I thought it best to tackle it the smarter way, rather than just enter the event and hope for the best like I did the last one.
I have devised a triple threat plan.  A vague plan but a plan nonetheless!
1.  Get back on My Fitness Pal (MFP)!  Adjust settings and crack on to get to goal weight!

Today is my second day back at using MFP.  I initially started MFP roughly 9 months ago, I was successful in losing 12kg, then kind of hit a road block and lost focus early this February.  I have been on again off again since and really couldn’t find the motivation to keep on with it.  This Sunday just gone I found that motivation that I had lost with the completion of my 10km race.  It confirmed for me that I need to be lighter, I need to be faster!

Feel free to add me 🙂 http://www.myfitnesspal.com/jam_hunt

I also have my fitbit synced to MFP… http://www.fitbit.com/user/24YBWT

 

2.  Complete c210k properly, without skipping weeks/days to build up endurance

Five weeks ago I had decided I would opt for the 10km Race option rather than the 5km.
I didn’t follow any kind of training plan to be able to complete the entire 10km distance, I just increased the kilometers I ran over those 5 weeks until I had covered 10.  Whether or not I could run the entire 10km non-stop, I was going to do it anyway.
Ambitious, but silly really.  I couldn’t run non-stop and this frustrated me losing valuable seconds.
Thus, I will complete it properly day for day, week for week, repeating days/weeks if I have to, I want to nail it!  And once nailing the 10km, I work on speed!

Todays run was in Big Ole Fat Rain!
Rainy Trail
Can’t really see the rain in that pic lol but it was there.  An hour and a half later it was twice as dark and twice as heavy!  Lucky I went when I did!
I have also traded in the sunny’s for a beanie!  It also helped to keep rain out of the eyeballs lol
04.06.201 026
I really enjoyed todays run, I took it easy covering around 9.4km in an hour and 13 mintues.  In the cool conditions and empty trails I was comfortable enough to just focusing on the run – breathing, cadence and speed.  Relaxed and cruisey, but still pushing slightly into uncomfortable territory for the old aerobic system.

Podcast and Beast Tune/listening for the day over on my Beast Playlist.

 

3.  Add in some strength training to weekly regimen

I haven’t really done much strength training since I have started running, the closest thing I have done was completing the 30 Day Shred, which I owe a lot of my weight loss too.
For the moment I have no structured strenght training plan, I am just completing the June Ab challenge that I came across on the Running for Health and Fun FB page.  I am also completing the Squat challenge along side this.

Squat Challenge Ab Challenge
So with the accumulation of 165 squats over 3 days, plus two 9-10km runs with mixed terrain, gives me some valid excuse to have a sore butt!  But its a good sore, because I am 3 days closer to a stronger run!  Yay for Butt and Ab Rest day!
This plan will give me a month to figure out how I am going to get myself into something a bit more structured.

If this plan doesn’t help me to achieve that Sub 1 hour, I don’t know what will!  I am pretty sure Sub 1 hour is a realistic goal.

Next run day will be Friday, until then keeping to my MFP settings and getting a better butt and core with my Monthly challenges.

I am sure to get some positive results from all of this anyway.

Hope you all have some Beast plans to get your run stronger!

Beast on Y’all

Jay 🙂

3 comments

  1. All looks good, a turtle told me: one foot in front of the other, time and pace will follow…awesome read…chur chur

    On 04/06/2013 20:22,

Leave a Reply

