Chasing the 10km

“I run because long after my footprints fade away, maybe I will have inspired a few to reject the easy path, hit the trails, put one foot in front of the other and come to the same conclusion I did:  I run because it always takes me where I want to go”
–  Dean Karnazes

Boom!  Today I PR’ed my 10km, by a whole 16.28mins!!!
I might have screamed the heck out of my anaerobic threshold, but I totally nailed that estuary today!

This morning wasn’t looking very promising for an easy/enjoyable run.  Last night, as I climbed into bed, for some reason unknown to me I started feeling some pains in my glute and down the side of my upper leg, eventually shooting into my calf.  I realised I was having issues with my IT Band, hoping that it will just magically disappear with a good nights sleep…
I was wrong!  The pain wasn’t severe and I was in two minds as to whether I should be going out for the full 10 today.  My stubborn mind came to the conclusion that I had 9 days before Race Day, I will be sweet by then.  As I walked out the front door, I was secretly hoping to God that I was right!

No injury, Thank God!  But I shouldn’t be so casual about it!  If I don’t get to race next weekend because of a wrong choice, I will dive head-first slowly but surely into some kind of Runners Depression!

Amy and I ran consistently at a rough 7’30″/km for each km, a couple a little higher and a few a little lower.  At the 3rd Km I stopped to stretch out my calf.  I wasn’t able to run comfortably until I reached the 4th km.  From then on we cruised through our remaining effort and managed the entire distance in 1hour 16mins.

Estuary Run 10km

On Sunday we will look into the actual Race route.  The event is being held about 10-15mins drive away from where I live so we are able to do some recon out there and have a go at running it.  I am hoping that we can run similar splits, but I know that the last 3km is around the base of Mount Maunganui, which is trail terrain… tiny pic lolMount Joggers 10km

Now this would usually be a fun run around the base of the Mount, but on the ass end of 10km is a little daunting for me seeing as I run a dead flat 10km and feel exhausted afterwards!  Hopefully I can form a plan in my head on Sunday, where I can pick up the pace to compensate for where I will need to walk.
At the end of the Day I will do my best and that will have to be good enough!

As I sit here tapping out this post, my calves are achey, my glutes burn and my quads a teeny bit tender.  But it is all worth it when I can look at my legs and say they are slowly turning into runners legs, I have so much more defined muscle going on down there, its pretty exciting!
Need more squats, need more lunges, need more running!

Resting up, Rolling out,

Have a good night Beasts!

Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

