If you run…

…you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.”
– John Bingham

This is the affirmation I gave myself this morning.
Today I ran for Boston.  I only just learned of this Event from reading a whole bunch of blogs the night before.  Like I have said in posts before, I am amateur at best, so do not know too much about the running world.  For this simple fact I thought I may not have been worthy of dedicating a run in the name of the 2013 tragedy.  But then I came across the above quote and found my place in the Running World.  I love how this sport is more like a way of life, so non-judgemental, and so beautifully simple!  You get out and run, and if you run that makes you a runner!

I am a runner!

19.04.2013 053

Today I ran with Amy, we covered 10km in total.  My longest and farthest run ever in my life.  We ran the Waikareao Estuary, it was amazing!  What was more amazing, knees don’t hurt as much as they usually do.
My greatest ever feeling, when I surprise myself!  When I know I can do more and give more, and then follow through, its pretty up there with some of the greatest moments in my life!  However I have to come back down to earth and remember that today was for something bigger than myself, for those who have lost their lives or are still recovering their injuries from the Marathon bombings.
When I first heard news of what happened, it was my early morning here in New Zealand, I was glued to the TV waiting for more and more updates.  My first thoughts were of sadness for the competitors and supporters, my second thoughts were again for these people, but more of anger.  Because of these terrible terrible acts, the people were deprived of the race and their achievements being the highlight of their day!  They were robbed of their front page news, the TV news highlights, instead words of bombing and motives and evidence, injury and death and blood steal the limelight.  I have never experienced marathon before, I have never really been into distance running before, but that morning, it felt like running was one of the things that defined me and because of this, my blood boiled!  Tbh I don’t think I ever found out who actually won the marathon, or even where the kiwi’s placed.  I spewed a few colourful words over my FB status’s and Beast Page, I know my entire newsfeed was covered in colourful comments like mine.

Ok negativity and colourful speak over, I must tell you about something wonderful that has happened in New Zealand.  Most have probably already heard, I am late with my post – Parliament has passed the Same-sex marriage law!  How excite is that!  Now all my fabulous gay friends can get married and it be recognised legally!  I am grateful to be alive in this day and in this country!

I hope you are all planning on running tomorrow, and I hope you too will surprise yourself!

Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

