Chucking it in!

I am giving up on road running!  I hate it, and I don’t even know why!  Well I do know why, because every road run I have done in the last week or so has left me in pain!  My knees, hips and back!  Also I get the craziest stitch!  In amongst my road run’s were my off-road runs, where there was no pain at all, and seemed so effortless in comparison.  I say I am giving up on road running, I probably wont, but I will limit them.  I have got to the point where I run more for enjoyment than for my original reason of losing weight.  Quite frankly I would rather be fat and running, than to be thin and not be able to run!  I stress so much about losing the weight, and keeping to my objectives and goals.  I stress about meeting my 1kg mark and counting the calories of each meal.  The feeling of losing that 1kg, is nothing compared to the achievement I feel of covering an extra unplanned kilometre!
I need to re-think my thought processes and what I actually want out of this whole thing!

Anyway I am going to be straight up and include todays weigh-in…dun dun duuuuuuun….

08.04.2013 – 77.4kg
15.04.2013 – 78.1kg

I fucking hate it but I know exactly how I got there!  Too much the drink!  But it was all in the name of one of my GC’s!  Brad, it was his birthday and I swear I polished off almost a box of beer, I was on fire, I was witty…I was so hung the next day!
I also had made a decision that after his birthday I would go dry, tbh, I have finally grown up and realised drinking isn’t for me, well not drinking to get drunk anyway.   A few here and there is all good, but to sink a whole box on your own, that is just asking for trouble!  My husband has little faith in me being able to hang up my drinking hands, quite frankly he needs a punch in the head for saying so!  Usually if someone tells me it can’t be done, they better fuck right off and just watch me…
yOU CANT DO SOMETHING

I don’t mean to be a dick about it, I do know though, that you can’t rely on someone else believing in you, sometimes you just have to put on your big girl/boy panties and believe in yourself, whether it be running, quitting the drink or just getting through your day.  Not trying to get all philosophical and shit, but you know what I mean.

Weather is expected to be a bit shithouse this week, plus the twins are scheduled for 15month immunisations, fun times in my household this week, it will be madness!  I am going to attempt a few more runs down the Estuary.  I hope I figure out this pain issue because running around the estuary is the most cost effective and boredom-less way I can get in my 7k’s.  I defs wont be giving up my Trail runs, but at the end of the day it is time and money to get out to the TECT, or any off-road trail.

3 and a half weeks till we Run for our Freak’n lives!  I am not phased about this, it will be physical and it will be challenging, but I know I will not (literally) die from competing, so I am not getting too hung up about it.  Jared (hubby) won’t be competing in our team anymore, some wrong calculations meant that he misses out and will be back at work at that time, so instead a friend of Brads is entering in Jareds place.  This guy (Marc)  is a little insane, totally competitive and very tactical.  He is exactly what we need.  He has completed a few Tough Mudders and has once competed in a Worlds Toughest Mudder, where you have 24hours to try knock out as many entire runs of the course as you can.  We sat conversing about TM for a good half hour to an hour about how to complete one, his teams experience with hypothermia and methods of how to get myself ready for one.  This guy was intense, but that’s cool with me!

I had mentioned in one of my last posts about the events I will be completing this year.  I have had second thoughts about whether to continue with the road runs, or to change my events to Trail/Off-road.  I don’t know, I’ll mull it over, I don’t want to end up hating it and chucking it all in for the sake of completing an event!

Need to sort my shit out, need to go for a run!

Can no longer run
Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

